Sep 25, 2017

Playhouse Square Announces Participating Schools for Third Annual Dazzle Awards presented by Patricia and John Chapman

Photos from 2017 Dazzle Awards
1 min highlight reel from 2017 Dazzle Awards
Video overview

With the aim of recognizing the importance of musical theater and arts education in Northeast Ohio high schools and honoring excellence, the Playhouse Square Dazzle Awards program presented by Patricia and John Chapman is affiliated with the National High School Musical Theatre Awards (“The Jimmy Awards”) presented by The Broadway League Foundation.

The 26 schools participating in the third annual Playhouse Square Dazzle Awards are:

Akron School for the Arts at Firestone CLC
Aurora High School
Avon High School
Brecksville-Broadview Heights High School
Buckeye High School
Cleveland Metropolitan School District All-City Arts Program
Euclid High School
Hawken Upper School
Lake Ridge Academy
Magnificat High School
Marion L. Steele High School
Mayfield High School
Nordonia High School
North Royalton High School
Open Door Christian Schools
Orange High School
Padua Franciscan High School
Parma Senior High School
Rocky River High School
Saint Joseph Academy
Shaker Heights High School
Solon High School
Thomas W. Harvey High School
Twinsburg High School
Wadsworth High School
Willoughby South High School

Applications for participation were made available to public and private high schools in Cuyahoga, Geauga, Lake, Lorain, Medina, Portage and Summit Counties.

This regional program offers arts education opportunities throughout the school year and culminates with the Dazzle Awards showcase on May 19, 2018. Awards are presented to outstanding musical theater productions and students in 13 categories, including Best Musical, Best Actor/Actress, Best Student Orchestra, Best Costume Design and Best Scenic Design. Nominations and awards are based on the evaluations of an independent panel of adjudicators.

The winners of the Best Actor and Actress categories represent Cleveland at the National High School Musical Theatre Awards in June 2018.

More information is available online at


The largest performing arts center in the country outside of New York, the not-for-profit Playhouse Square is Northeast Ohio’s destination for Broadway and more great entertainment. Playhouse Square is a champion of arts education and downtown Cleveland, and proud to be the home of Cleveland Ballet, Cleveland Play House, Cleveland State University Department of Theatre and Dance, DANCECleveland, Great Lakes Theater and Tri-C JazzFest.