Oct 6, 2022

Playhouse Square Announces Participating Schools for Annual Dazzle Awards presented by Pat and John Chapman

What does it take to put on a high school musical? Once the director chooses a show, students audition for parts. Casting is announced and then a flurry of activity begins – rehearsing, building sets, preparing and fitting costumes, setting lights, checking microphones and selling tickets. This happens at high schools across Northeast Ohio as students play their roles on stage, backstage or in the orchestra pit.

For 34 schools, the journey does not end when the curtain closes on their final school performance. Each May, nearly 2000 students from those schools come together for a week of rehearsals in preparation for the Dazzle Awards presented by Pat and John Chapman, an annual awards ceremony and showcase that celebrates hard work and dedication, recognizes the importance of high school musical theater programs and honors excellence.

The 34 schools representing seven counties participating in this year’s annual Playhouse Square Dazzle Awards presented by Pat and John Chapman are:

Akron School for the Arts at Firestone CLC
Archbishop Hoban High School
Aurora High School
Avon Lake High School
Bay Village High School
Berea-Midpark High School
Brunswick High School
Chagrin Falls High School
CMSD All-City Musical
Eastlake North High School
Euclid High School
Hathaway Brown School
Hawken School
Highland High School
Hudson High School
Independence High School
Lutheran High School West
Magnificat High School
Mayfield High School
Medina High School
Midview High School
Nordonia High School
Open Door Christian Schools
Orange High School
Padua Franciscan High School
Rocky River High School
Shaker Heights High School
Solon High School
Thomas W. Harvey High School
University School
Wadsworth High School
Walsh Jesuit High School
Western Reserve Academy
Willoughby South High School

This regional program offers arts education opportunities throughout the school year and culminates with the Dazzle Awards showcase on May 20, 2023. Awards are presented to outstanding musical theater productions and students in 12 categories, including Best Musical, Best Actor/Actress, Best Student Orchestra, Best Costume Design and Best Scenic Design. Nominations and awards are based on the evaluations of an independent panel of adjudicators. 

The Playhouse Square Dazzle Awards program presented by Pat and John Chapman is affiliated with the National High School Musical Theatre Awards (“The Jimmy Awards”) presented by The Broadway League Foundation. The winners of the Best Actor and Actress categories will represent Cleveland at The Jimmy Awards in summer 2023.

More information is available online at playhousesquare.org/dazzleawards