Our Mission:

We are a not-for-profit performing arts center who presents and produces a wide variety of quality performing arts, advances arts education and creates a neighborhood that is a superior destination for entertainment, business and residential living, thereby strengthening the economic vitality of the region.

The Stage

Presenting and producing a variety of the finest entertainment for the betterment of the community. more

Arts Education

A national leader in engaging the community through enriching experiences in the performing arts. more

Area Development

A major area developer creating a vibrant destination and economically-strong neighborhood. more


Performing Arts Center

A not-for-profit that must raise over $4 million dollars annually to continue improving the region's quality of life. more

The 2017 Dazzle Awards

About the Dazzle Awards

The Dazzle Awards presented by Patricia and John Chapman

There are no events at this time.

Help us meet the Dazzle Challenge!

This is more than an awards ceremony - it is a life-changing opportunity! Students participate in master classes and workshops throughout the year, as well as a week of intensive rehearsals for the Dazzle Awards ceremony itself. Following the Dazzle Awards, two of the top students will represent Cleveland at the National High School Musical Theatre Awards in New York in June. Our goal is to raise $25,000 to help this program grow and thrive. Long-time Playhouse Square Trustee John Chapman and his wife Pat have offered to match the amount we raise dollar for dollar. 

You can donate to the Dazzle Challenge here.


Click here to view the 2017 Dazzle Award winners.

View photos from the first ever Dazzle Awards.

Click here to view the 2017 Dazzle Awards Nominees.

About the Dazzle Awards presented by Patricia and John Chapman:

The Dazzle Awards aim to inspire and honor excellence in high school musical theater, and to recognize the importance of musical theater and arts education within the Northeast Ohio community. A panel of adjudicators attend one production at each participating school, provide educational feedback on the official evaluation form and determine nominees and awards for participating schools. This regional program culminates at the Connor Palace with the Dazzle Awards, modeled after the Tony Awards®, to recognize outstanding musical theater productions and students. The winners in the Best Actor and Best Actress category will have the opportunity to participate in the National High School Musical Theatre Awards in New York City.

Learn about the 2017 Dazzle Awards Production Team here.

For additional details and information, please review the links below. Please contact Amber McIntyre at [email protected] or at 216-640-8453 with questions.


Program Information and Applications

The application period for the 2016-17 Dazzle Awards has closed. Here are the schools participating in the 2016-17 Dazzle Awards!

Click here to view the 2016 Dazzle Award winners.

National High School Musical Theatre Awards

The National High School Musical Theatre Awards (NHSMTA) was established in 2009 to elevate the importance of theater arts education in schools and reward excellence in student performance. The program impacts over 50,000 students annually who participate in high school musical theater competitions sponsored by thirty professional theaters throughout the US. 

The winner of the Playhouse Square Best Actress and Best Actor awards will go on to represent Playhouse Square and Northeast Ohio at the National High School Musical Theatre Awards (NHSMTA, known as The Jimmy Awards) in June, 2017. The winners will receive an all-expenses paid trip to New York City where they will receive professional instruction and compete with students from other regional programs for the title of Best National High School Actress and Best National High School Actor. 

To be eligible to participate in The Jimmy Awards, the regional Best Actress and Best Actor winners must have played a NHSMTA-recognized leading role in their school’s production. For this reason, only students playing a NHSMTA-recognized leading role in their school’s production will be eligible for a Best Actress and/or Best Actor nomination. 

Please review the links below for additional information regarding the NHSMTA approved musicals and qualifying leading roles.

Looking for more information about Community Engagement & Education programs at Playhouse Square? Click here to contact the Community Engagement and Education Department.