Disney Musicals in Schools presented by Dee and Jimmy Haslam

Playhouse Square and Disney present a special opportunity to introduce the collaborative art of musical theater to your school. Strengthen arts programming and develop partnerships among students, faculty, staff and the greater community through this outstanding program.

FOUR schools will receive a 19-week musical theater residency which culminates in a 30-minute Disney KIDS Musical at your school site! Working with professional teaching artists, your faculty will build skills necessary to produce a musical theater show starring your students. Through this process, students develop self-confidence, practice collaboration and strengthen speaking and reading skills while learning musical theater techniques.

Over the course of the 19 weeks, professional Teaching Artists guide school teachers through the process of a mounting a musical with student performers. Our goal is to provide the training necessary for teachers to continue a tradition of theater education for years to come.

Any Cuyahoga, Lake or Lorain County public elementary school, including public charter schools, with a student poverty level of 50% or higher (according to the Ohio Department of Education’s 2013 Typology Report) is eligible to apply. 

Playhouse Square also gratefully acknowledges The Cleveland-Cliffs Foundation for its generous support of Disney Musicals in Schools. 



  • Announcing Fall 2024


2023–24 Schools:

  • Benjamin Franklin Elementary
  • Bolton Elementary
  • Eastern Heights Elementary School
  • Student Share Special Guest, Douglas MacArthur Girls’ Leadership Academy

2022–23 Schools:

  • Chestnut Elementary School
  • Newton D. Baker School of Arts
  • Old Brooklyn Community Elementary and Middle School
  • Sunbeam School

2021–22 Schools:

  • Campus International School
  • Garfield School
  • Franklin D. Roosevelt Academy
  • Stephanie Tubbs Jones School

2019–20 & 2020–21 Schools:

  • Clark School
  • Douglas MacArthur Girls’ Leadership Academy
  • George Washington Carver School
  • William Rainey Harper School

2018–19 Schools:

  • Case School
  • Dike School of the Arts
  • James A. Garfield Elementary School
  • Willow Elementary School

2017–18 Schools:

  • Buhrer Dual Language School
  • Franklin D. Roosevelt Elementary School
  • Patrick Henry Elementary School
  • Nathan Hale Elementary School​

2016–17 Schools: 

  • Euclid Park School
  • Orchard STEM School
  • Warner Girl’s Leadership Academy
  • Wilbur Wright School

2015–16 Schools:

  • Campus International School
  • Paul L. Dunbar Elementary
  • Marion-Sterling
  • Oxford Elementary School

Looking for more information about education programs at Playhouse Square?